top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram Clean Grey

5 Tips On Hot Weather Dressing

If there is one thing you should know about me , is I live in a country that has only one season - Summer . In Singapore , the weather is just plain hot . But who says that you cannot dress well in the heat and look cool? Certainly not me ! Today , I am giving you 5 solid tips I look sharp and feel cool in the heat .

Tip #1 Go natural

In the heat , I would definate go with a natural fabric , cotton , linen and seersucker are a go to . For me , I would try to avoid synthetics if possible . Synthetics do not breathe as well as natural fabrics and in the heat, synthetic blends can often result in cooking yourself, especially so when it is a pure polyester that is rough and plain funky .

Tip#2 Open Weave

I remember one of my worst style nightmares to date , I brought this casual button up shirt from Korea about two years ago . The fit was absolutely flawless , the fabric was natural - cotton and it was according to the salesman , all weather dressing . The best part was , the price . It was relatively inexpensive , costs me about $40 max on that shirt . When I came back to Singapore , I was literally sweating buckets . It was like I just took a shower in my clothes , it was until recently that I found out that the weave is incredibly dense in the fabric . Well , I guess the salesman was right about the shirt being all weather , but I guess that excludes summer . A garment made with an open weave is going to breathe better and keep you cool . To test it , hold the garment up against a light source , if you can see through it , you are good to go .

credits : http://www.gentlemansgazette.com/shirt-guide-basics-weaves/

notice that light passes through easily in a summer fabric

Tip #3 Unlined jacket

This is for the gentleman who suits up even in the heat . My sole advise is - minimal construction and lining . You would want as much of the jacket to be exposed as possible . If I am having a jacket made for the Singaporean heat , I would avoid the full lining very much like the plague . The lining , no matter the material , Is going to trap a considerable amount of heat , resulting in you feeling incredibly hot . What I would recommend if the quarter lined jacket . That means the jacket's lining only covers the front , sleeves and the top part of the back , leaving the back quite cool and it allows the garment to breathe better as the result .

Tip #4 Bright colors

This should come off as a no brainer : dark colors traps heat and you will feel very warm . But what does not come off as a no brainer is that even in a conservative corporate environment , there is a way to look conservative and still embrace the lighter colors . The color to go to - the gray . I am quite sure that charcoal and navy is the standard for corporate suits and business wear , however , a medium gray to a light gray suit would look completely appropriate . Just do not go too light on the gray , you need to be careful . Notice , when I mean bright colors , I do not mean flashy colors , (ie: red, yellow,orange , green , neon etc ) . You would still want to maintain that conservative , professional look . By choosing a lighter shade of gray , you are already standing out , too much of it would look like a comedy .

Tip #5 Wear a hat

There are probably over half a quarter million types of stylish , classy hats out there on the industry and in the heat , I would lighly recommend one to pick up a hat for himself as well . The hats would block the sun from having direct contact with one's head and thus not increase the core temperature , not to mention reducing the chances of a heatstroke . I recommend applying Tip#2 to the equation as well , that usually means a straw hat or a bamboo one . Besides , donning a hat would make almost anyone look good .

Now with the essential tricks and tips on hot weather dressing , you can now look hot and stay cool and classy .


bottom of page